best websites of the world

Fugger

The Fuggerei
Unparalleled worldwide for 500 years

Typical of the Fuggerei: Renaissance stepped gable

The Fuggerei was founded almost 500 years ago by Jakob Fugger the Rich (also on behalf of his deceased brothers Georg and Ulrich) as a housing complex for needy Augsburgers, and it has been in continuous operation fulfilling that mission since that time. To this day, people with low incomes can live in the Fuggerei for an annual base rent of 88 cents and three daily prayers. Here, in the oldest social housing complex in the world, visitors experience a fascinating journey through history – and the normal everyday life of the Fuggerei's 150 current residents ...

The Fuggerei was founded almost 500 years ago by Jakob Fugger the Rich (also on behalf of his deceased brothers Georg and Ulrich) as …

The Fuggerei in flight

Summer in the Fuggerei

The so-called "Russian chimney" in the ...

Christ the Prisoner

Suffering Madonna

Original bell pull

Middle lane, town hall and Perlach tower in ...

Almost all bell pulls are unique

Wild vines on Herrengasse

Roof impressions

Sundial on the facade of St. Markus

Old pump well in front of the sacristy at ...

Gothic house number 17. Every residence has ...

Carpenter's workshop, formerly a stable. ...

Historical photograph, shortly before 1900

The Fuggerei was founded almost 500 years ago by Jakob Fugger the Rich (also on behalf of his deceased brothers Georg and Ulrich) as a housing complex for needy Augsburgers, and it has been in continuous operation fulfilling its mission since that time. To this day, people with low incomes can live in the Fuggerei for an annual base rent of 88 cents and three daily prayers. Here, in the oldest social housing complex in the world, visitors experience a fascinating journey through history – and the normal everyday life of the Fuggerei's 150 current residents.

A city within the city with 142 residences

At 15,000 sqm, the Fuggerei occupies a formidable plot of land near Augsburg's city centre. The Fuggerei has always been surrounded by a wall; to this day the gates close at 10pm. Construction of the 67 houses, each with two residences, began in 1516 and was completed in a number of different phases. Over the course of time, St. Markus Church, two museums and an administrative building were also constructed. For the early modern era, the Fuggerei's infrastructure was forward-looking and visionary with its linear layout of buildings, paths and public spaces. To this day, strolling through the Fuggerei gives one a sense of a well-ordered and idyllic atmosphere.

 

 



Eckdaten der News:
Newsdatum:26.02.2014,
09.08 Uhr
Angezeigtesdatum:
TExt Related:
text relbycat:
Relatedbycat:
Kategorie:cat_Fuggerei
MutterLayout:layout_5
Unterlayout:layoutalt_3
Überschriftengröße:listueber_kl
Category: Fuggerei
Show Teaser:0
Show Alt Teaser:0

 

RELATED THEMES